Ashtanga Basics (Level 2-3)
January 23 (Wednesday) at 6:00 pm

Class length
1 hour 15 minutes
Class levels
nKCYOGA studio
Learn the basics of the Ashtanga practice- see description below.  In this supportive and welcoming class, students will get the opportunity to experience the first section of the Ashtanga Yoga sequence in an introductory and available manner.  This class will give you the opportunity to flow, breath, and sweat while experiencing an introductory class appropriate for anybody who is active.

Ashtanga yoga is a style of yoga that was developed by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois and T. Krishnamacharya in the 20th century.

Ashtanga yoga is a dynamic, flowing style that connects the movement of the body with the breath. The method stresses the importance of daily practice of a set series of movements. There are six series of Ashtanga yoga sequences, which the student progresses through at their own pace.

Ashtanga yoga is named after the term given in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras for the eight-fold path of yoga, or ashtanga, meaning “eight-limbed” in Sanskrit. It was Sri K. Pattabhi’s belief that the asana "limb" of yoga must be practiced before the others could be mastered. The practice was developed in Mysore, India where Sri K. Pattabhi Jois taught and set up the Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute.

There are several key principles that underlie the practice of Ashtanga yoga:

Breath: It is recommended that postures are held for five to eight breaths or more, if possible.
Drishti: For every posture in the series, there is a set of drishtis, or gaze points.
Vinyasa: This is the breathing system that connects every movement in the series with the breath.
Bandhas: The practice should be carried out with the bandhas, or "body locks," engaged in order to ensure that the breath is also correct.
Daily practice: Practice Practice Practice and all is coming!

Ashtanga yoga is considered a vigorous, orderly practice and, as such, is more suited to students who want a dynamic and rigorous yoga practice.

Sorry - that class has already taken place!